Thursday, October 14, 2004

Annual Awards Showcase Excellence in Library Service

The WLA's Awards and Honors Committee is pleased to announce the following award recipients for 2004: DEMCO/Librarian of the Year, both Rob Reid, formerly with Indianhead Library System, Eau Claire, and Peter G. Hamon, director of the South Central Library System, Madison; Library of the Year, Carthage College Hedberg Library in Kenosha; Trustee of the Year, Sandralee Thiele, president, Darien Public Library Board of Trustees; Special Service Award, Donald Bulley, Trustee, South Milwaukee Public Library; WLA/Highsmith Award, Marathon County Public Library, Wausau; and Muriel Fuller Award, Laura Moss Gottlieb, Reference Librarian, Hedberg Public Library, Janesville.

The award winners will be honored at the annual Awards Banquet at the WLA Conference in Lake Geneva, Thursday, November 4, 7:00-9:00 p.m. The WLA website contains more information about the award winners. Congratulations to all for setting a high bar for library service!
Scholarship Winners Announced

The WLA Library Careers Committee recently selected recipients of the library and continuing education scholarships funded by the WLA Foundation. Jo Ann Gustavson, director of Neillsville Public Library, was this year's winner of the Scholarship for the Education of Rural Librarians in memory of Gloria Hoegh ($550) and the Diversity Scholarship ($450). Gustavson is working toward her MLIS. Sue Abrahamson, youth services librarian at Waupaca Area Public Library, received the George Bauer Continuing Education Scholarship of $450. Alycia Sellie, a student at UW-Madison, received the $950 Library Education Scholarship. The committee applauded her involvement with the Madison Zine Fest, which demonstrated Alycia's goal of promoting community involvement and inviting new programming into library settings. Lynn Schneider, also a UW-Madison student, received the $950 Sally Davis Scholarship. The committee found commendable Lynn's goal of influencing public policy to support library service for children and young adults.

The deadline for applications for the Vida Stanton Scholarship, granted to master's students at UW-Milwaukee SOIS who are pursuing a career in youth services or school librarianship, was extended to November 15.
Public Library District Legislation Key Part of 2005 Agenda

The Library Development & Legislation Committee has created a Library District Subcommittee, chaired by Jessica MacPhail, to shepherd district legislation from the drafting stage to passage. An important part of that process will require input from WLA members, and achieving consensus within WLA will be required for the success of this bill. Interested members are invited to attend "Rethinking Wisconsin Libraries" at the WLA Conference on Wednesday, November 3, 8:45-10 a.m., to learn more about library districts. There will also be a program devoted to "Top 10 Political Issues" in 2005 with discussion about districts and other library legislative and funding issues. Check the conference website for details. In addition, the Library District Subcommittee will hold a meeting at the conference on Wednesday, November 3, 2:15 to 3:00 p.m. in Galewood D.

The WLA website has more information about library districts, including a summary of the current proposal.